Rob Lainton, Aaron Hayden among eight players released by Wrexham

Wrexham have confirmed that Rob Lainton and Aaron Hayden are among several players that have been released.

After securing back-to-back promotions and gearing up for their League One debut next season, Wrexham announced the departure of eight senior players from the Stok Racecourse Ground.

Goalkeeper Lainton, 34, joined Wrexham in 2018. Despite suffering with a number of injury problems during his six years at the Welsh club, he made 132 appearances in total.

Hayden, meanwhile, joined Wrexham from Carlisle United in 2021, and has made 17 appearances in all competitions this season, scoring one goal.

Wrexham have also released defenders Callum McFadzean, Jordan Tunnicliffe, and Ben Tozer, along with midfielder Luke Young. Youngsters Owen Cushion and Dan Davies will also depart.

Striker Steven Fletcher, who signed for Wrexham as a free agent in September 2023, has been offered a new contract. The 37-year-old former Burnley, Wolverhampton Wanderers and Marseille striker has scored eight goals across 34 appearances this campaign.

Wrexham secured promotion to League One in April after finishing second in the table behind champions Stockport County.



Wrexham owners want to expand stadium capacity to 50,000

Full retained/released list:

Released list:

  • Aaron Hayden
  • Rob Lainton
  • Callum McFadzean
  • Ben Tozer
  • Jordan Tunnicliffe
  • Luke Young
  • Owen Cushion
  • Dan Davies

Young players released:

  • Max Hayes
  • Michael Hayman
  • Jack Pilkington
  • Jake Roberts
  • Dan Wright

Players that contracts have been offered to:

Automatic Extensions:

Decision Pending:

(Top photos – Matthew Ashton – AMA/Getty Images)

Source link

About The Author

Scroll to Top