PWHL announces inaugural coaches for its 6 teams

USATSI 20480085

The Professional Women’s Hockey League announced the head coaches that will lead the league’s six teams Friday. Here’s what you need to know:

  • Among the most notable names were Toronto’s Troy Ryan — who leads the Canadian national women’s hockey team — and Montreal’s Kori Cheverie, who is an assistant coach of the Canadian national women’s team.
  • Carla MacLeod, who won three gold medals with Team Canada (two in the Olympics and one World Championship) and is coach of the Czech national women’s team, will coach the PWHL’s Ottawa team.
  • Courtney Kessel (Boston), Charlie Burggraf (Minnesota) and Howie Draper (New York) were the other three coaches named. Kessel currently serves as associate head coach of Boston University’s women’s team.


The PWHL’s inaugural season in 2024 will feature its six teams playing 24-game schedules.

Ahead of its first season, the league has had a busy summer of free agency and will have its first draft on Sept. 18.

The 2023-24 season will begin in January and the teams’ schedules will include some games held at neutral sites. Those events will be in collaboration with the NHL and will be marketed as special events. The PWHL and its players are also expected to appear at NHL events, like the Winter Classic and All-Star games.

Required reading

(Photo: Dan Hamilton / USA Today)

Source link

About The Author

Scroll to Top