Manchester City’s Phil Foden and Khadija Shaw win FWA player of the year awards

Manchester City’s Phil Foden and Khadija Shaw have clinched the player of the year awards from the Football Writers’ Association (FWA) for the 2023-2024 season.

Foden, 23, secured the top spot with 42 per cent of the votes, edging out competition from Arsenal’s Declan Rice and his club team-mate Rodri, who secured second and third place respectively.

Foden’s exceptional season includes 22 goals and 10 assists across all competitions, contributing to City’s pursuit of a Premier League and FA Cup double. He follows in the footsteps of Erling Haaland and Ruben Dias, who won the award in 2023 and 2021 respectively.



Foden ‘getting balance just right’ in best goalscoring season

Shaw, meanwhile, emerged victorious in the women’s footballer of the year category, becoming the second City player to claim the honour after Nikita Parris in 2019.

Shaw’s accolade adds to City’s success, as their players have now secured both major awards twice in the last five years. Her achievement comes despite a season-ending injury last week, and she is set to finish as the top scorer in the Women’s Super League (WSL) on 21 goals while City close in on the title.

The Jamaica international pipped Chelsea’s Lauren James, with the two taking 80 per cent of what was a record number of votes for the women’s player of the year.

Shaw’s team-mates Alex Greenwood and Yui Hasegawa were third and fourth, with Brighton’s Elisabeth Terland and City keeper Khiara Keating completing the top six.

The FWA awards ceremony will take place in London on Thursday, May 16.



Khadija Shaw: My Game In My Words

(Michael Regan/Ben Roberts/Getty Images) 

Source link

About The Author

Scroll to Top