Ex-news anchor Janelle Stelson to take on GOP Rep. Scott Perry in Pennsylvania

perryscott 011024gn01 w

Former local news anchor Janelle Stelson has won the Democratic primary to take on Rep. Scott Perry (R-Pa.) this November, according to Decision Desk HQ. 

Stelson, once a news anchor for WGAL-TV 8, defeated five other Democratic challengers in the crowded field to take on Perry in Pennsylvania’s 10th Congressional District. She was previously a Republican, according to Pennsylvania Capital-Star, and currently lives outside of the district, according to The Philadelphia Inquirer.

Among those who endorsed Stelson’s bid are the campaign arm of the center-left New Democrat Coalition, EMILY’s List and United Mine Workers of America.  

Her most prominent challengers included Mike O’Brien, a retired Marine Corps lieutenant colonel. Punchbowl News reported O’Brien received endorsements from Rep. Seth Moulton (D-Mass.) and former Rep. Conor Lamb (D-Pa.). He also received the backing of organizations and unions including Teamsters Local 776 in Harrisburg, the largest union office in the state. 

Perry is running for a seventh term in Congress and came under scrutiny during the Democratic primary for his efforts to overturn the 2020 election results. He was among 147 Republicans to object to the last presidential election results. 

Perry was also among a handful of GOP lawmakers subpoenaed during the House select committee’s investigation into the Capitol attack, but he ultimately rebuffed the panel’s request. 

However, federal prosecutors involved in special counsel Jack Smith’s probe into the 2020 election were given access to much of Perry’s correspondence following a favorable court ruling in December.

Perry’s seat narrowly went for Trump in 2020 by 4 percentage points. The nonpartisan election handicapper Cook Political Report rates Perry’s seat as “lean Republican.” 

Copyright 2024 Nexstar Media Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

Source link

About The Author

Scroll to Top